Skip to main content

The Final Fantasy 25th Anniversary Box Set Has All 13 Main Games

At an event today, Square Enix announced a special Final Fantasy box set for the franchise’s 25th anniversary. The most notable inclusion in the box set is not a special art book, or limited DLC, but all thirteen main games included in one box. Don’t you worry, Final Fantasy X-2 and Final Fantasy XIII-2 are kept out of your awesome anniversary set.

Recommended Videos

Amusingly, the set does include Final Fantasy XI, the now fairly old MMO that Square Enix tried to replace with the newer, floundering MMO Final Fantasy XIV. Unfortunately, this anniversary edition does not port all of the games onto one specific system — like the PlayStation 3, for example — but spans four different Sony systems: The original PlayStation, the PSP, the PlayStation 2, and the PlayStation 3. Here’s the breakdown:

  • Final Fantasy (PS1, 1 disc)
  • Final Fantasy II (PS1, 1 disc)
  • Final Fantasy III (PSP, 1 disc)
  • Final Fantasy IV (PS1, 1 disc)
  • Final Fantasy V (PS1, 1 disc)
  • Final Fantasy VI (PS1, 1 disc)
  • Final Fantasy VII International (PS1, 4 discs)
  • Final Fantasy VIII (PS1, 4 discs)
  • Final Fantasy IX (PS1, 4 discs)
  • Final Fantasy X (PS2, 1 disc)
  • Final Fantasy XI Vana Del Collection 2 (PS2, 1 disc)
  • Final Fantasy XII (PS2, 1 disc)
  • Final Fantasy XIII (PS3, 1 disc)

This would mean that, yes, if you shelled out the cash to buy 13 Final Fantasy games and actually wanted to play the games, you’re going to have to have, at minimum, a rare PS3 with backwards compatibility, and a PSP. If you’re a more recent PS3 owner, you’ll have to have a PS3 for Final Fantasy XIII, a PSP for Final Fantasy III, and a PS2 (in all its backwards compatibility glory) for everything else. The anniversary set will also include an art book, a two-disc soundtrack with select pieces of music, a statue of the 25th anniversary Moogle, and a special item code for an earring in Final Fantasy XIV.

The box set will run around $445, or 35,000 yen. Currently, the box set is only being offered in Japan, with a release of December 18. Aside from the box set, Square Enix will also be releasing three limited art books, measuring in at around 320 pages each, costing about $41, or 3,255 yen, a piece.

Cool set, especially if you want all of your Final Fantasy games to sit pretty on your bookshelf, but we can’t help but think Square Enix missed an opportunity by not porting all the games onto the PS3 in some fashion, via disc or download. Either way, at least Final Fantasy X-2 and its CommSpheres aren’t included, amirite?

(via Andriasang)

Relevant to your interests

Have a tip we should know? [email protected]

Filed Under:

Follow The Mary Sue: