The Mary Sue

Lionsgate Decides To Split The Third Hunger Games Film In Two, Gives Us Both Release Dates


Never let it be said that Hollywood turns down an opportunity to make money (why should they?) – Lionsgate has decided to split Suzanne Collins’ third book of The Hunger Games series, Mockingjay, into two films. Hit the jump for all the details! 

Well, we don’t have much at this point but Deadline reports the official split. “The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1 will bow worldwide November 21, 2014, followed by The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 2 on November 20th, 2015.”



It’s no surprise the filmmakers would follow in the recent footsteps of both the Harry Potter and Twilight series by splitting the final installments in two.  The Hunger Games made over $400 million domestically at the box office and it’s likely the sequel, Catching Fire, will do just as well.

Seriously though, why make fans wait an entire year between the two parts? They’ll most likely be filming them at the same time and factoring in DVD releases, six months seems more considerate to fans. But hey, I’m one of those fans so I’ve got a big opinion on the matter. At least it gives us another film to look forward to after the second Hobbit film is out…

The Hunger Games: Catching Fire will hit theaters November 22, 2013.  Do you think this was the right move by Lionsgate? Where do you think they’ll wind up splitting the films?

(via Deadline)

Previously in The Hunger Games

Are you following The Mary Sue on Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr, Pinterest, & Google +?

© 2017 The Mary Sue, LLC | About Us | Advertise | Subscription FAQ | Privacy | User Agreement | Disclaimer | Contact | RSS RSS
Dan Abrams, Founder

  1. Mediaite
  2. The Mary Sue
  3. RunwayRiot
  4. LawNewz
  5. Gossip Cop