Skip to main content

Pride, Ennui, and Schadenfreude Are Some of the Missing Emotions of Pixar’s Inside Out


The Blu-ray/Digital HD release of Pixar’s Inside Out is tomorrow, and with it, the knowledge of which emotions ended up on the cutting room floor. Probably because most kids would have a hard time pronouncing “schadenfreude.” Unless they’re, you know, German kids.

In one of the special features on the Inside Out co-director Pete Docter talks about some of the emotions that may have joined Joy, Sadness, Anger, Fear, and Disgust in Riley’s brain, including Pride, Hope, Schadenfreude (pleasure in the misfortune of others), and Ennui.

I guess they’re saving those for Riley’s teenage years?

In any case, there were originally twenty-six emotions before they got narrowed down to the basic five emotions we end up getting to know in the film. And that’s not the only change (for the better, IMHO) Docter talks about. He also talks about the fact that the emotions had human names for a long time – like Anger being Ira and Fear being Freddy:

We were very opposed to calling them by their emotion. We thought we were being very clever and not so on-the-nose. That ended up being more confusing than it was worth, so I was wrong on that one.


knowing is half the battle

(Image courtesy of Disney/Pixar)

—Please make note of The Mary Sue’s general comment policy.—

Do you follow The Mary Sue on Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr, Pinterest, & Google +?

Have a tip we should know? [email protected]

Filed Under:

Follow The Mary Sue:

Teresa Jusino (she/her) is a native New Yorker and a proud Puerto Rican, Jewish, bisexual woman with ADHD. She's been writing professionally since 2010 and was a former TMS assistant editor from 2015-18. Now, she's back as a contributing writer. When not writing about pop culture, she's writing screenplays and is the creator of your future favorite genre show. Teresa lives in L.A. with her brilliant wife. Her other great loves include: Star Trek, The Last of Us, anything by Brian K. Vaughan, and her Level 5 android Paladin named Lal.