Rock Out to Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2's "Awesome Mix" | The Mary Sue
Skip to main content

Rock Out to Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2’s New “Awesome Mix”


Marvel has just announced the soundtrack for the upcoming Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2, which is sure to get you excited for the sequel.

With the delightful collection that was Awesome Mix Vol. 1, fans no doubt had high expectations for the second Awesome Mix. Director James Gunn, in a Rolling Stone interview, has discussed breaks down each song and the way music informs the Guardians films and how a larger budget allowed him to incorporate bigger names alongside bands that “may have been forgotten.”

We warned though, if you go over to the Rolling Stone article you might find some mild spoilers (if you consider knowing what songs line up with which characters a spoiler). However, here’s a non-spoilery quote that I really love on the use of “Guardians Inferno” featuring David Hasselhoff:

“This comedic original, co-written by Gunn and score composer Tyler Bates, is meant as a sort of Guardians take on Meco’s disco Star Wars theme. Gunn is particularly proud of a line that rhymes ‘procyon lotor’—i.e. ‘racoon,’ as in Bradley Cooper’s Rocket—with ‘motor.’ They recruited David Hasselhoff as vocalist largely because he’s supposed to be one of Peter Quill’s childhood heroes.”

How does that not get you pumped? Anyway, here’s the full set list:

  1. “Mr. Blue Sky” — Electric Light Ochestra
  2. “Fox on the Run” — Sweet
  3. “Lake Shore Drive” —Aliotta Haynes Jeremiah
  4. “The Chain” —Fleetwood Mac
  5. “Bring It On Home To Me” —Sam Cooke
  6. “Southern Nights” —Glen Campbell
  7. “My Sweet Lord” —George Harrison
  8. “Brandy (You’re A Fine Girl)” — Looking Glass
  9. “Come A Little Bit Closer” — Jay and the Americans
  10. “Wham Bam Shang-A-Lang” — Silver
  11. “Surrender” — Cheap Trick
  12. “Father and Son” — Cat Stevens
  13. “Flash Light” — Parliament
  14. “Guardians Inferno” — The Sheepers feat. David Hasselhoff

A kind soul has compiled all the tunes on Spotify here. What do you think of the new mixtape?

(via io9, Image: screencap)

Want more stories like this? Become a subscriber and support the site!

The Mary Sue has a strict comment policy that forbids, but is not limited to, personal insults toward anyone, hate speech, and trolling.—

Have a tip we should know? [email protected]

Filed Under:

Follow The Mary Sue: