comScore Brianna Wu Orphan Black DeGrasse Tyson 2015 Shorty Awards | The Mary Sue

Brianna Wu, Margaret E. Atwood, Orphan Black, Neil DeGrasse Tyson, & More Included in 2015 Shorty Awards Nominations

Also Bob Vila?

ShortyAwards2015The Hollywood Reporter has just revealed the nominations for this year’s Shorty Awards for achievements on the internetz.

“The Shorty Awards honor the best of social media, recognizing the people and organizations producing content on Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, Vine, and the rest of the social web,” explains the official Shorty Awards website. “The awards ceremony takes place in April in New York City and are livestreamed to a global audience.”

Some familiar names to a lot of us here. If you’d like, you can also see the fully linked version of nominess at THR, otherwise away we go!

Arts & Entertainment

Actor

  • James Franco @JamesFrancoTV
  • Neil Patrick Harris @ActuallyNPH
  • Chris Pratt @prattprattpratt
  • Misha Collins @mishacollins
  • Jensen Ackles @JensenAckles
  • Osric Chau @OsricChau
  • Eric West @ericxwest

Actress

  • Lena Dunham @lenadunham
  • Sarah Jessica Parker @SJP
  • Laverne Cox @Lavernecox
  • Natasha Negovanlis @natvanlis
  • Shay Mitchell @shaymitch
  • Carrie Hope Fletcher @CarrieHFletcher
  • Bella Thorne @bellathorne

Band

  • BASTILLE @bastilledan
  • HAIM @HAIMtheband
  • One Direction @onedirection
  • Little Mix @LittleMix
  • Fifth Harmony @FifthHarmony
  • 5 Seconds of Summer @5SOS
  • The Vamps @TheVampsband

Celebrity

  • Conan O’Brien @ConanOBrien
  • Ellen DeGeneres @TheEllenShow
  • Anna Kendrick @AnnaKendrick47
  • Justin Bieber @justinbieber
  • James Maslow @jamesmaslow
  • Logan Henderson @1LoganHenderson
  • Oliver Trevena @olivertrevena

Comedian

  • Jenny Slate @jennyslate
  • Hannibal Buress @hannibalburess
  • Mindy Kaling @mindykaling
  • Nicole Arbour @NicoleArbour
  • Stats Britain @StatsBritain
  • Cooper the Comedian @VerifiedCoop
  • Jonny Sun @jonnysun

Musician

  • Questlove @questlove
  • Lorde @lordemusic
  • Calum Hood @Calum5SOS
  • Bang Yongguk @BAP_Bangyongguk
  • Emine Sari @EmineMusic
  • Ruki @RUKItheGazettE
  • Soles @SolesMusic

Singer

  • Demi Lovato @ddlovato
  • Taylor Swift @taylorswift13
  • Beyoncé Knowles @Beyonce
  • Ibtissam Tiskat @IbtissamTiskat
  • Kenza Morsli @Kenza_Morsli
  • Laith Abu Joda @LaithAbuJoda
  • Sam Alves @samalvesmusic

TV Show

  • Pretty Little Liars @ABCFpll
  • The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon @FallonTonight
  • Girls @girlsHBO
  • The Quest @TheQuestABC
  • Supernatural @cw_spn
  • Faking It @mtvfakingit
  • Orphan Black @OrphanBlack

Vine Artist

  • Ian Padgham @origiful
  • Tom Shea @tommyfox
  • Meghan Doherty @mdoherty04
  • Alicia Herber @leeshespieces
  • Xaviera López @xavieralopez
  • Jack Bethmann @jackbethmann
  • Tom Deslongchamp @tomthinks

Vine Comedian

  • Josh Peck @PortuableShua
  • Logan Paul @LoganPaul
  • Jake Paul @ImJakePaul
  • Meghan McCarthy @MeghanWMcCarthy
  • Christian Leave @ChristianLeave
  • Brandon Bowen @BrandonRayBowen
  • Alx James @AlxJames10

Vine Musician

  • Eric Nakassa @ericnakassa
  • Rajiv Dhall @JivDude
  • Shawn Mendes @ShawnMendes
  • Sebastian Olzanski @SEBTSB
  • Anna Clendening @annaclendening
  • Kenzie Nimmo @kenzienimmo
  • Em Harriss @EmHarriss

Vine Star of the Year presented by Univision

  • Michael Lopriore @MichaelLopriore
  • Brittany Furlan @BrittanyFurlan
  • Jessi Smiles @jessismiles__
  • Alexander Holtti @ImAlexHoltti
  • Thomas Sanders @foster_dawg
  • Lele Pons @lelepons
  • King Bach @KingBach

Web Show

  • Laci Green @gogreen18
  • Marques Brownlee @MKBHD
  • Mental Floss Video @MF_video
  • Rob Dyke @TheRobDyke
  • Carmilla Series @carmillaseries
  • SourceFed @sourcefed
  • Peacekeepers @peacekeepersnyc

YouTube Comedian

  • Nathan Zed @TheThirdPew
  • GloZell Green @GloZell
  • Jenna Marbles @Jenna_Marbles
  • Steve Zaragoza @stevezaragoza
  • Zach Clayton @bruhitszach
  • Rudan C @rudanc
  • Lilly Singh @IISuperwomanII

YouTube Guru presented by FYI

  • Zoella @ZozeeBo
  • Michelle Phan @MichellePhan
  • Lisa Eldridge @Lisa_Eldridge
  • Lex Fleming @MadeULookbyLex
  • Amy Hislop @itsamyxoxo
  • Paul Zedrich @paulzedrich
  • Jen Espinoza @JenifferXo

YouTube Musician

  • Sam Tsui @SamuelTsui
  • Pentatonix @PTXofficial
  • Mike Tompkins @Mike_tompkins
  • Christina Grimmie @TheRealGrimmie
  • Tanner Patrick @TannerPatrick
  • Connie Talbot @ConnieTalbot607
  • Peter Hollens @PeterHollens

YouTube Star of the Year presented by A&E

  • Smosh @smosh
  • Jon Cozart @JonCozart
  • Grace Helbig @gracehelbig
  • Matthew Santoro @MatthewSantoro
  • The Hillywood Show @HillywoodShow
  • Philip DeFranco @PhillyD
  • Connor Franta @ConnorFranta

 

Creative & Design

Artist

  • Aiww English (beta) @aiwwenglish
  • Studio Olafur Eliasson @olafureliasson
  • Ilse Valfre @valfre
  • Yami @ART_YC
  • Katrin Niederleithner @Jarlie86
  • Sweaty Ghost @sweatyghost
  • Katie Rodgers @paperfashion

Director

  • Kevin Smith @ThatKevinSmith
  • Lynn Shelton @lynnsheltonfilm
  • Shonda Rhimes @shondarhimes
  • Alfredo Flores @alfredoflores
  • Joshua Butler @TheJoshuaButler
  • Sawyer Hartman @SawyerHartman
  • Dean Sherwood @DeanSherwood

DIY

  • Sweet Paul Magazine @sweetpaul
  • Food Hacks @foodhacks
  • Bob Vila @BobVila
  • Josh Altman @joshaltman
  • Bethany Mota @bethanymota
  • Geoffrey Taft @geoffreytaft
  • Simply Organized @SimplyOrganize1

Fashion

  • Jay Strut @JayStrut
  • Aritzia @ARITZIA
  • Nicole Warne @garypeppergirl
  • Tanner Zagarino @TannerZagarino
  • Lucky Blue Smith @luckybsmith
  • Rangga Dewamoela @Rangga_Moela
  • The Style Line @thestyleline

GIF of the Year

  • Biden being Biden
  • Dancing Old Man
  • Screaming German Kid
  • Ashley Wagner
  • Gosling Culkin Inception
  • Tiger Cub & Boy
  • USA Guy

Instagrammer

  • Mindy Kaling @mindykaling
  • Kate Spade New York @katespadeny
  • Aureta Thomollarri @aureta
  • Skellie @omgskellie
  • Woody The Great @WOODY_THEGREAT
  • Scott Terry @ScottTerry1
  • C+C Mini Factory @CCMiniFactory

Photographer

  • MEATBALLSSMAMA @meatballssmama
  • Nat Geo Photography @NatGeoPhotos
  • Andrew Knapp @andrewomerknapp
  • Bryant Eslava @bryanteslava
  • Vivienne Gucwa @travelinglens
  • Jared Ruschmann @jrush9
  • Joe McNally @JoeMcNallyPhoto

Pinner

  • Jaimee Rose @JaimeeRose
  • Design Quixotic @designquixotic
  • Better Homes & Gardens @BHG
  • Spencer Lewis @cspencerlewis
  • Michael Wurm, Jr. @inspiredbycharm
  • Lauren Rabadi @RoboLikes
  • Honestly WTF @HonestlyWTF

Snapchatter

  • Dasha Battelle @DABattelle
  • Jerome Jarre @jeromejarre
  • Shonduras @Shonduras
  • Daniel Alexander @SNCKPCK
  • Alex Perrault @Sportsmanias
  • Mike Platco @mplatco
  • Cyrene Quiamco @cyreneq

Vine of the Year

  • The 9 Month Vine by Ian Padgham @origiful
  • The Evolution of Sharing by Maris Jones @themarisjones
  • Turnip for What by The White House @WhiteHouse
  • Polar Vortex by Lawrence Becker @sampletimes
  • Mirror Copy by Tee Ken Ng @teekneng
  • Do It For The Vine by Dom @BrownnSkinn____
  • Drunk In Love Baby by @beautifullmiaa (Vine)

 

News & Media

Athlete

  • Tom Daley @TomDaley1994
  • Caroline Wozniacki @CaroWozniacki
  • Kevin Durant @KDTrey5
  • Oliver Campbell @oliverbcampbell
  • Nattie Neidhart @NatbyNature
  • David Luiz @DavidLuiz_4
  • Lauren Fleshman @laurenfleshman

Author

  • Susan Orlean @susanorlean
  • Joyce Carol Oates @JoyceCarolOates
  • Margaret E. Atwood @MargaretAtwood
  • Carolina Munhóz @carolinamunhoz
  • Doeneseya Bates @doeneseya
  • Chris Colfer @chriscolfer
  • Tracy Shawn @TracyShawn

Blogger

  • Joe My God @JoeMyGod
  • Maria Popova @brainpicker
  • Jason Kottke @jkottke
  • Melany’s Guydliness @Melanyb12
  • James Michael Sama @JamesMSama
  • On Location Vacations @OLV
  • Julia Schemmer @msjuliadarling

Food

  • Alton Brown @altonbrown
  • Jonathan Gold @thejgold
  • Big Gay Ice Cream @biggayicecream
  • Danielle Noce @ickfd
  • Rosanna Pansino @RosannaPansino
  • Logan Guleff @LoganJrChef
  • Mark McEwan @Chef_MarkMcEwan

Healthy Living

  • Yoni Freedhoff, MD @YoniFreedhoff
  • Michael Pollan @michaelpollan
  • Kris Carr @Kris_Carr
  • Stuard Wimbles @amidiabetic
  • Kerri Verna @beachyogagirl
  • Adriene Mishler @yogawithadriene
  • Susan Campbell Cross @SusanCross1

Journalist

  • Heidi N. Moore @moorehn
  • Bill Simmons @BillSimmons
  • Glenn Greenwald @ggreenwald
  • Lisa Daftari @LisaDaftari
  • Erik Kain @erikkain
  • Larry King @kingsthings
  • Wesley Lowery @WesleyLowery

Newsworthy Photo of the Year

  • Ferguson by Robert Cohen @kodacohen for the St. Louis Post-Dispatch @stltoday
  • Ebola in Liberia by Daniel Berehulak @berehulak
  • Ferguson by Scott Olson @gscottolson for Getty Images @GettyImages
  • Migrants by Massimo Sestini @massimosestini1 for Eyevine @eyevine
  • MH17 by Pierre Crom @PierreCrom for Getty Images @GettyImages
  • Umbrella Revolution in Hong Kong by Damir Sagolj @damirsagolj
  • Ellen’s Oscar Selfie by Ellen Degeneres @theellenshow

Science

  • Neil DeGrasse Tyson @neiltyson
  • ASAPScience @AsapSCIENCE
  • Bill Nye @billnye
  • Kavin Senapathy @ksenapathy
  • David Shiffman @WhySharksMatter
  • Real Scientists @realscientists
  • TrowelBlazers @trowelblazers

Tumblr Blog of the Year

  • If They Gunned Me Down
  • It’s Like They Know Us
  • If Paintings Could Text
  • What Would Yeezus Do
  • iQuantNY
  • Men Taking Up Too Much Space on the Train
  • Love, Grampa and Grandmaster Flash

Weird

  • Saved You A Click @SavedYouAClick
  • Darth @darth
  • Los Angeles Rain @LosAngelesRain
  • GISHWHES @gishwhes
  • Sam Bashor @SamBashor
  • David Moye @dmoyeweirdnews
  • Poncho @poncho_ny

 

Tech & Innovation

BN Student presented by Barnes & Noble College

  • Lauren “L.E.” Charles @lauren_eliz3
  • Alexia Raye @AlexiaRaye
  • Steven Kreimendahl @JewishBro
  • TY Autry @JTyAutry
  • Haley Barnett @ChikHaley64
  • Foluké Tuakli @FolukeFiasco
  • TatumHartwig @tatumrosy

Business Blogger presented by Cox BLUE

  • Tim Fargo @alphabetsuccess
  • Kerry Butters @kesbutters
  • Amy Vernon @AmyVernon
  • Jeff Barrett @BarrettAll
  • Pauline Cabrera @Twelveskip
  • Hilary Topper @hilary25
  • Ann Smarty @seosmarty

Emoji of the Year

  • Flame
  • Prayer Hands
  • 100 Points
  • Poop Face
  • Blowing a Kiss
  • Pizza
  • Red Dress Dancer

Fake Account

  • NYTFridge @NYTFridge
  • Racket Teen @RacketTeen
  • Prince @PrinceTweets2U
  • Dean Winchester @_DemonDean
  • Faux Pelini @FauxPelini
  • Bored Elon Musk @BoredElonMusk
  • Annoying Actor Friend @Actor_Friend

Fansite

  • Winter is Coming @WiCnet
  • SB Nation @SBNation
  • Taylor Swift Web @TaySwiftdotcom
  • Jarre Daily @JarreDaily
  • 5H on Tour @5HonTour
  • The Paramore Band @TheParamoreBand
  • SpoilerTV @SpoilerTV

Gamer

  • Alanah Pearce @Charalanahzard
  • Brianna Wu @Spacekatgal
  • Raptr @Raptr
  • John Bain @Totalbiscuit
  • Mark Fischbach @markiplier
  • Felix Kjellberg @pewdiepie
  • Jesse Cox @JesseCox

Non-Human

  • Denny’s @DennysDiner
  • Congress Edits @congressedits
  • Elsa @FrozenElsa
  • Peppa Pig @aPeppa
  • Tony Tiger @TonyTiger2000
  • Birds Rights Activist @ProBirdRights
  • Choupette Lagerfeld @ChoupettesDiary

Parent

  • Richard Dreyfuss @RichardDreyfuss
  • Claire Díaz-Ortiz @Claire
  • Jessica Gottlieb @JessicaGottlieb
  • Marala Scott @MaralaScott
  • Genevieve Padalecki @realGpad
  • Kristen Daukas @KristenDaukas
  • Shaycarl @shaycarl

Podcast

  • Serial @serial
  • Reply All @replyall
  • Star Talk @StarTalkRadio
  • Jack Eye Jones @jackeyejones
  • Bruce Van Horn @BruceVH
  • RebelForce Radio @RebelForceRadio
  • Tyler Oakley @TylerOakley

Top Breakout reddit Community

  • Baby Elephant GIFs
  • Serious Eats
  • Resentful Animals
  • Cool Guides
  • Millionaire Makers
  • Instant Regret
  • Happy Crying Dads

 

Global Issues

Activist

  • Maryam al-Khawaja @MARYAMALKHAWAJA
  • Shawn Ahmed @uncultured
  • Black Lives Matter @Blklivesmatter
  • Cala Do Otário @CanalDoOtario
  • Against Suicide @AgainstSuicide
  • Rita Pam Tarachi @RitaPamTarachi
  • Katie Meyler @katiemeyler

Brazil

  • Marina Silva @silva_marina
  • Todd Benson @TBensonBrazil
  • Ricardo Nester @NesterTweets
  • Fiuk @Fiuk
  • Lua Blanco @Lua_Blanco
  • Sophia Abrahão @sophiaabrahao
  • Gabriela Rippi @GabrielaRippi

Charity

  • The Gates Foundation @gatesfoundation
  • Partners in Health @PIH
  • Joyful Heart Foundation @TheJHF
  • Random Acts @RandomActsOrg
  • R.I.S.E. & STAND @RISEandSTAND
  • Hilgos Foundation @IRememberBetter
  • The Leukemia and Lymphoma Society @LLSusa

Green

  • Climate Desk @ClimateDesk
  • Kelly Drennan @ecofashionista
  • Andy Revkin @Revkin
  • Ian Somerhalder @iansomerhalder
  • The Alternative Travel Project @ALTravelProject
  • Mark Ruffalo @MarkRuffalo
  • Livia Firth @liviafirth

Teen Hero

  • Joshua Wong @joshuawong1013
  • Emily Clark @emy_clark
  • Malala Fund @MalalaFund
  • Buddy Project @ProjectBuddy
  • Suicide Stops @SuicideStops
  • Saphira @SaphiraFashion
  • Abigail Harrison @AstronautAbby

Will you be participating in the voting process?

Are you following The Mary Sue on Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr, Pinterest, & Google +?

Have a tip we should know? [email protected]

Filed Under:

Follow The Mary Sue:

Jill Pantozzi is a pop-culture journalist and host who writes about all things nerdy and beyond! She’s Editor in Chief of the geek girl culture site The Mary Sue (Abrams Media Network), and hosts her own blog “Has Boobs, Reads Comics” (TheNerdyBird.com). She co-hosts the Crazy Sexy Geeks podcast along with superhero historian Alan Kistler, contributed to a book of essays titled “Chicks Read Comics,” (Mad Norwegian Press) and had her first comic book story in the IDW anthology, “Womanthology.” In 2012, she was featured on National Geographic’s "Comic Store Heroes," a documentary on the lives of comic book fans and the following year she was one of many Batman fans profiled in the documentary, "Legends of the Knight."