Skip to main content

The Force Awakens Retroactively Added as Critics Choice Awards Best Picture Nominee Following Re-Vote

[brief pic description]

The Critics Choice Awards nominees were announced earlier this month, but now, following a re-vote, the Broadcast Film Critics Association has accounted for the release of Star Wars and named The Force Awakens as an 11th Best Picture nominee.

Recommended Videos

Here’s the competition:

The Big Short

Bridge of Spies



Mad Max: Fury Road

The Martian

The Revenant




Collider points out that the addition of The Force Awakens will likely up the Awards viewers when the ceremony is broadcast on January 17th. There’s no voter overlap between the Film Critics Association and Oscar voters, so this news might not do much to improve TFA‘s chances for an Academy Award; still, it’s nice to see a little-known, small-time film like this finally getting some attention.

Who would get your vote from that list, friends?

—Please make note of The Mary Sue’s general comment policy.—

Do you follow The Mary Sue on Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr, Pinterest, & Google +?

Have a tip we should know? [email protected]


Filed Under:

Follow The Mary Sue: