Skip to main content

The 2017 BAFTAs Give It Up For La La Land, As Expected—But 13th and Fences Also Took Trophies


Someone call a carpenter to install another shelf in Viola Davis’ home, because she’s going to need a place to put all of these well-deserved award trophies. At the BAFTAs last night, Davis took home the Best Supporting Actress award for her role in Fences, and as usual, her acceptance speech did not disappoint. Here’s a quote for those unable to watch the video above:

“When [my father] took his last breath, one of the most devastating things that went through my mind is: ‘did his life matter?’ August [Wilson, writer of Fences] answers that question so brilliantly, because what he did is he said that our lives mattered as African Americans. The horse groomer, the sanitation worker, the people who grew up under the heavy boot of Jim Crow, the people who did not make it into history books, but they have a story; and those stories deserve to be told, because they lived.”

Speaking of victories for Black creators, Ava DuVernay’s haunting documentary 13th also took home the Best Documentary BAFTA last night as well. The film, which is available on Netflix, tells the story of the systematic targeting of African-Americans with regard to entry into the U.S. prison system. Also streaming on Netflix is Oprah’s interview with Ava DuVernay about the film.

In terms of the other BAFTAs for the evening, La La Land cleaned up in a ton of categories, including Best Film as well as Best Leading Actress for Emma Stone. Via The Telegraph, here’s the full list of winners from last night’s ceremony. My main disappointment with these is that Arrival didn’t win a single thing, in spite of having been nominated in several categories. I would have liked to see either Arrival or Hidden Figures win for Best Adapted Screenplay, at the very least. Anyway, on to the list!

Leading Actress
Amy Adams – Arrival
Emily Blunt – The Girl on the Train
WINNER: Emma Stone – La La Land
Meryl Streep – Florence Foster Jenkins
Natalie Portman – Jackie

Best Film
Arrival – Dan Levine, Shawn Levy, David Linde, Aaron Ryder
I, Daniel Blake – Rebecca O’Brien
WINNER: La La Land – Fred Berger, Jordan Horowitz, Marc Platt
Manchester By The Sea – Lauren Beck, Matt Damon, Chris Moore, Kimberly Steward, Kevin J. Walsh
Moonlight – Dede Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner, Adele Romanski

Arrival – Denis Villeneuve
I, Daniel Blake – Ken Loach
WINNER: La La Land – Damien Chazelle
Manchester By The Sea – Kenneth Lonergan
Nocturnal Animals – Tom Ford

Leading Actor
Andrew Garfield – Hacksaw Ridge
WINNER: Casey Affleck – Manchester by the Sea
Jake Gyllenhaal – Nocturnal Animals
Ryan Gosling – La La Land
Viggo Mortensen – Captain Fantastic

Arrival – Bradford Young
Hell Or High Water – Giles Nuttgens
WINNER: La La Land – Linus Sandgren
Lion – Greig Fraser
Nocturnal Animals – Seamus McGarvey

Original Screenplay
Hell Or High Water – Taylor Sheridan
I, Daniel Blake – Paul Laverty
La La Land – Damien Chazelle
WINNER: Manchester By The Sea – Kenneth Lonergan
Moonlight – Barry Jenkins

Supporting Actor
Aaron Taylor-Johnson – Nocturnal Animals
WINNER: Dev Patel – Lion
Hugh Grant – Florence Foster Jenkins
Jeff Bridges – Hell or High Water
Mahershala Ali – Moonlight

Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer
The Girl With All the Gifts – Mike Carey (writer), Camille Gatin (producer)
The Hard Stop: George Amponsah (writer/director/producer), Dionne Walker (writer/producer)
Notes on Blindness: Peter Middleton (writer/director/producer), James Spinney (writer/director), Jo-Jo Ellison (producer)
The Pass: John Donnelly (writer), Ben A Williams (director)
WINNER: Under the Shadow: Babak Anvari (writer/director), Emily Leo, Oliver Roskill, Lucan Toh (producers)

Special Visual Effects
Arrival – Louis Morin
Doctor Strange – Richard Bluff, Stephane Ceretti, Paul Corbould, Jonathan Fawkner
Fantastic Beasts And Where To Find Them – Tim Burke, Pablo Grillo, Christian Manz, David Watkins
WINNER: The Jungle Book – Robert Legato, Dan Lemmon, Andrew R. Jones, Adam Valdez
Rogue One: A Star Wars History – Neil Corbould, Hal Hickel, Mohen Leo, John Knoll, Nigel Sumner

Animated Film
Finding Dory – Andrew Stanton
WINNER: Kubo And The Two Strings – Travis Knight
Moana – Ron Clements, John Musker
Zootropolis – Byron Howard, Rich Moore [Ed. note: Did you know that Zootopia was called Zootropolis in Europe? Weird, right?]

Supporting Actress
Hayley Squires – I, Daniel Blake
Michelle Williams – Manchester by the Sea
Naomie Harris – Moonlight
Nicole Kidman – Lion
WINNER: Viola Davis – Fences

Adapted Screenplay
Arrival – Eric Heisserer
Hacksaw Ridhe – Robert Schenkkan, Andrew Knight
Hidden Figures – Theodore Melfi, Allison Schroeder
WINNER: Lion – Luke Davies
Nocturnal Animals – Tom Ford

Film not in the English Language
Dheepan – Jacques Audiard, Pascal Caucheteux
Julieta – Pedro Almodovar
Mustang – Deniz Gamze Erguven, Charles Gillibert
WINNER: Son Of Saul – Laszlo Nemes, Gabor Sipos
Toni Erdmann – Maren Ade, Janine Jackowski

WINNER: 13th – Ava DuVernay

The Beatles: Eight Days A Week – The Touring Years – Ron Howard
The Eagle Huntress – Otto Bell, Stacey Reiss
Notes on Blindness – Peter Middleton, James Spinney
Weiner – Josh Kriegman, Elyse Steinberg

Production Design
Doctor Strange – John Bush, Charles Wood
WINNER: Fantastic Beasts And Where To Find Them – Stuart Craig, Anna Pinnock
Hail, Caesar! – Jess Gonchor, Nancy Haigh
La La Land – Sandy Reynolds-Wasco, David Wasco
Nocturnal Animals – Shane Valentino, Meg Everist

Arrival – Joe Walker
WINNER: Hacksaw Ridge – John Gilbert
La La Land – Tom Cross
Manchester By The Sea – Jennifer Lame
Nocturnal Animals – Joan Sobel

British Short Film
Consumed – Richard John Seymour
WINNER: Home – Shpat Deda, Afolabi Kuti, Daniel Mulloy, Scott O’Donnell
Mouth Of Hell – Bart Gavigan, Samir Mehanovic, Ailie Smith, Michael Wilson
The Party – Farah Abushwesha, Emmet Fleming, Andrea Harkin, Conor MacNeill
Standby – Charlotte Regan, Jack Hannon

British Short Animation
The Alan Dimension – Jac Clinch, Jonathan Harbottle, Millie Marsh
WINNER: A Love Story – Khaled Gad, Anushka Kishani Naanayakkara, Elena Ruscombe-King
Tough – Jennifer Zheng

(via The Telegraph, image via screencap)

The Mary Sue has a strict comment policy that forbids, but is not limited to, personal insults toward anyone, hate speech, and trolling.—

Follow The Mary Sue on Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr, Pinterest, & Google+.

Have a tip we should know? [email protected]

Filed Under:

Follow The Mary Sue:

Maddy Myers, journalist and arts critic, has written for the Boston Phoenix, Paste Magazine, MIT Technology Review, and tons more. She is a host on a videogame podcast called Isometric (, and she plays the keytar in a band called the Robot Knights (