Skip to main content

J.K. Rowling’s Publisher Denies Seven-Book Series For The Cuckoo’s Calling

Never Mind

The internet went all aflutter this week after an article in the Sunday Times claimed that J.K. Rowling’s pseudonymous crime novel would be expanding into a seven-part set. Seemed appropriate, given Rowling’s apparent affinity for the number. However, it sounds as if the Times put the carriage ahead of the Thestral. Rowling’s publisher, Little, Brown, replied in no uncertain terms: “There aren’t seven books planned in the series.”

Recommended Videos

As reported by The Bookseller earlier this week:

Publisher Little, Brown has described a Sunday Times report that JK Rowling has planned out up to seven novels in her adult crime series written under the pseudonym Robert Galbraith as “without foundation”.

Sad news for those of you already clearing space on your bookshelves, but hey, at least the sequel isn’t going anywhere! As we previously reported, follow-up novel The Silkworm has been given a release date of June 19th in the UK, and June 24th in the US. The plot revolves around a murdered novelist, whose disappearance may be linked to an unpublished manuscript.

The Cuckoo’s Calling was released last year without any stated connection to Rowling. Though the novel was doing quite well on its own, sales skyrocketed once its author’s true identity was (perhaps inevitably) leaked. Rowling successfully sued for damages, donated her winnings to charity, and kept the pen name. Good on you, Mr. Galbraith.

Previously in The Cuckoo’s Calling

Are you following The Mary Sue on Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr, Pinterest, & Google +?

Have a tip we should know? [email protected]

Filed Under:

Follow The Mary Sue: