Don’t Panic! Google Just Wants You To Look At Your Privacy Settings

Recommended Videos

If you use Gmail and happen to click your way to your Google Buzz tomorrow, it will ask you to review your privacy settings.  Don’t panic!  This is normal.  Or at least it will be tomorrow.

In response to widespread concerns over the privacy of Buzz, Google is going to ask users to review and confirm their privacy settings, so that everyone can see the changes they’ve made to the interface.

Google has taken a lot of flak for the dubious privacy level of Buzz, even from congress, and in response has made a number of changes, including auto-suggesting instead of auto-following, and no longer automatically connecting to Google Reader and Picasa.

However, if users signed on to Buzz before these changes were made, they may not be aware of them.  Google wants to make sure that everybody knows where their info is now.

(via Mashable.)


The Mary Sue is supported by our audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a small affiliate commission. Learn more about our Affiliate Policy
Author
Image of Susana Polo
Susana Polo
Susana Polo thought she'd get her Creative Writing degree from Oberlin, work a crap job, and fake it until she made it into comics. Instead she stumbled into a great job: founding and running this very website (she's Editor at Large now, very fancy). She's spoken at events like Geek Girl Con, New York Comic Con, and Comic Book City Con, wants to get a Batwoman tattoo and write a graphic novel, and one of her canine teeth is in backwards.